Summary

September 17, 2012

So, what is it like to spend 3 months in a small RV with your spouse 24/7?

DIFFICULT!  It’s a miracle we are still speaking to one another.  This does not apply to only spouses as I think it would be extremely hard on anyone, be it best friend, sibling or relative.  I’ve met many travelers on my journey and most of them seem to be enjoying this nomadic way of life, it is just not for me.

Most of our disagreements were about where to stay (Dick always wants a view), which way to turn, and basically just “getting out of the way.”  Another dispute; I like the windows open for fresh air at night, Dick likes them closed.

I give myself a pat on the back for hanging in for the duration.  Oft times I would shout at the RV “I hate you!”  Especially when something mechanical came up that I wasn’t able to figure out.  I was so frustrated, especially when Dick asked me to bring him “that thing over there.”  What thing, over where?

Many people have asked, “would you do it again?”  OF COURSE!  The beauty that I witnessed everyday is something I shall never forget. Those majestic mountains (my favorites), emerald lakes, flowing rivers, impressive glaciers, meandering streams, crystal clear creeks and those magnificent animals!

In one of my past blogs I said it was the best of times, it was the worst of times; well the best of times won out in the end.  Without Dick sharing his bucket list trip with me, I would never have had the opportunity to witness such splendor, and for that I will always be thankful. 

I learned to set up the table, the bed and the navigation system.  I learned to drive an RV and know what a transmission looks like.  I learned to plug in specific outlets, start a campfire and master the art of map reading.  I learned about various plants and the diversity of the tundra.  Beside the experience in Alaska and Canada, I also was privileged to view the beauty of some other states and immerse myself in a large amount of history while visiting Mount Rushmore, the Battle of Big Hole, National Parks, and  dozens of museums.

I have also discovered how to simplify and go back to basics.   No make-up, no hair cuts, no fancy wardrobe, no dining out and more importantly, just being who I am and to enjoy life to the fullest.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jim Peters
    Sep 19, 2012 @ 17:22:29

    Great ‘end of story’ on a fantastic trip! When’s your next trip, so I can live vicariously through you travel buffs? Love, Maui Jim

    Reply

  2. rgb.sbc@gmail.com
    Sep 23, 2012 @ 20:49:27

    Well said. Didn’t remember to read this till I was in your living room watching the Vikings with you guys.
    I’m sure boiling things down is tough. Good luck. Look forward to final result. Rick
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

    Reply

  3. Hutch
    Sep 25, 2012 @ 21:22:18

    Good on you J4! So your ready to do it again?! Wow!
    Its always good to simplify life and get down to the basics of what really makes us happy. So where is your next trip off to? Amazing!
    Welcome back!
    H

    Reply

Leave a Reply

