The Long and Winding Road

September 1, 2012

Our schedule driving home seems pretty consistent.  Start out at 8 a.m. and drive until 7 p.m. stopping only for lunch or a view point we missed earlier in the trip.

This morning it is a stop at Hudson’s Hope where we browse the museum, buy a magnet and continue on toward Chetwynd.  This city is called The Chainsaw Carving Capital and every year in June, the town holds an International Chainsaw Carving Championship.  There are at least 15 of these sculptures in front of the Visitor Center of beautifully carved mermaids, Indians, animals and other various subjects.

The remaining part of the day is composed of driving while listening to an amusing audio tape by Janet Evanovich.  Not much else to report as our journey is coming to an end.  I am looking forward to Santa Barbara, family and good friends.

At 7 p.m. we pull into the Mc Neese  Lake Campground, eat dinner and prepare for bed.   I have to mention that Dick & I have been blessed with an  opportunity to view this incredible country; what a privilege.  I must remember to thank Dick for giving me the chance to accompany him on “his bucket list”, and to appreciate all the beauty the world has to offer.

The Long and Winding Road, a song by the Beatles, sums up my feelings as I look forward to my return. I’ve taken the liberty (apologies to the Beatles) to alter two words and fill in my own (in italics) as I head home to Santa Barbara.

The long and winding road

That leads to your (my) door

Will never disappear

I’ve seen that road before

It always leads me here

Leads me to your (my) door.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Dianne Elliott
    Sep 04, 2012 @ 19:26:15

    I can hear you singing it now. Welcome back to the lower 48. See you soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

