Bison, Hot Springs and Lakes

August 31, 2012

This morning I decide to take advantage of the Downtown RV Campground since the bathrooms here are the cleanest I’ve seen in 3 months!   As I brush my teeth over the spotless porcelain sink, “Wake Up Little Susie” by the Everly Brothers and “Splish Splash I was Taking a Bath” by Bobby Darin are filling the air with piped in music. The walls are painted a cobalt blue with white borders.  I feel heat radiating from the walls and I love it as it is 42 degrees outside.  Even the laundromat, where I  washed the Nyquil-stained duvet last night, is spotless.  A television was playing and I watched Mitt Romney accept the nomination for President of the United States at the GOP  National Convention.  (No comment.)

It is a clear and sunny last day in August, but 5 miles out on the highway, the fog begins to roll in.  My Milepost Book tells us to watch for Wood Bison along the road, and sure enough, looming out of the thick fog is an enormous bison right next to the highway!  Dick pulls over (but not too close) and I snap a great photo.  About ¼ mile down the road, we see the most gruesome site; something out of a Stephen King novel.   In the eeriness of the mist, off the roadway, there sit a murder of crows feasting on 4 dead bison!  Three of the creatures are still covered with hides, but one is opened up, all the innards exposed.    I take 2 photos, but will not post them at this time.  I believe it is the family of the big male we saw just prior to this.  It is necessary to keep a watchful eye out for these beasts as they are all up and down the highway, eating in the grassy areas.  I’m sure the lifeless ones we observed were hit by cars.

The fog finally lifts and we are treated once again by a bountiful of incredible views.  Dick is kvelling (a Yiddish word for beaming or taking pleasure in) and expresses himself verbally.  I, on the other hand, am taciturn and absorb all the beauty like a sponge, keeping it inward and to myself.

Our choice of music this morning  is a CD of Luciano Pavarotti; what a voice!

The Liard Hot springs is approaching and we remember a fellow at the gas station telling us it is one of his favorite places, so why not?  We exit the highway and drive down a nicely paved road.  This area also serves as a campground.  Dick is so excited and hurriedly throws off his clothes and dons his black trunks.  I am indecisive and really don’t want to bother getting undressed and into my bathing suit, but Dick encourages me.  A 10 minute stride takes us to a most unexpected surprise.  The hot springs are set in a forest of trees.  There is a changing room as well as bathrooms.  Oh my gosh!  The water is delightful.  Temperature is about 108 degrees and it takes some time submerging ourselves.  There are 2 pools, one a bit cooler for children.  A couple begin conversing with us.  The man, in his 60’s, with white hair and a trim physique works in the oil industry.  He and his wife, Nola live in St. John, B.C. and come here often to relax and rejuvenate.  Both wear eyeglasses and I’m curious as to why the lenses don’t steam up. The bottom of the pool is covered with rocks and somewhat slippery and there is a spot around the bend that is really HOT!  If you can make it over, you place a pebble in a pile to show your achievement.  I try as I love the hot water, but it is scalding, and by now I’m feeling light-headed so I chicken out.  All in all it is a fantastic experience and I’m so glad Dick talked me into this.

We continue on the Alaska Highway to Muncho Lake where Dick pulls over to a viewpoint and we eat lunch.  The turquoise colored lake is the biggest natural lake in the Canadian Rockies and the color is breathtaking.

Our destination today is Fort. Nelson but it is only 4:30 and we decide to continue driving for another 2 ½ hours.  Finishing an audio tape, “The House”  by Danielle Steele (I’ve never read any of her novels and now I know why),  we are now listening to another tape by Janet Evanovich called “Ten Big Ones.”

On this part of the Alaska highway we pass through British Columbia and Canada 6 times.  At last we find a place to stay as it is now 7:30 and becoming dark so much earlier than at the start of this trip.  The Pink Mountain RV Campground is where we call it a day.

It has been almost 4 months in our 22.5 ft. home and Dick and I are still speaking to one another!   I’ll write more about this in a future blog.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. john murley
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 20:12:55

    Im glad to hear you’re having a good time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

