A Day in Fairbanks

       August 18, 2012

Today is Hutch’s 40th birthday and we will celebrate with him in spirit.   He is leaving on Monday to attend the memorial for his half-uncle in Minneapolis.

There is a Farmer’s Market ½ mile from our campsite so we drive over and amble through the stalls of  produce, crafts, clothing and food.  Not as large as the market in Anchorage, but noteworthy none the less.

At the Visitor & Cultural Center we gather information on activities in Fairbanks, wander through the exhibits and watch an amazing movie entitled “One Man’s Wilderness: An Alaskan Odyssey.”  Dick is so fascinated with the film he wants to buy the DVD, but the store is sold out.  We will order it on Amazon.com

Within walking distance is the Chena River Walk and downtown Fairbanks where we check out the district and read about the town’s history.  The weather is cooperating today, so we continue our tour of the city with the sun to warm us.

On our list is the Migratory Waterfowl Refuge & National Historic Site where the open fields are full of Lesser Canada Geese, Sandhill Cranes and Pintail Ducks.  There are several viewing areas along the trail for observation.

Our day ends with a visit to the Fountainhead Antique Auto Museum.  3,000 square feet of cars, vintage clothing, photographs and short films with only an hour before closing!  This is the most complete museum of its kind I’ve ever seen!   It would be my first recommendation for any traveler coming to Fairbanks.

We dine at the Pump House Restaurant & Saloon; a charming tavern that sits alongside the Chena River.

On personal notes;

My mechanical skills are improving, although I break a shelf which attaches to the stove.  (Dick repairs it.)  I’m not adept at reading maps, BUT my memory is pretty good and I can recall the names of streets and landmarks which helps out tremendously.  Also, if I don’t know how to get somewhere (not like some men I know), I’m not afraid to ask for directions.  And every now and then I have qualms about this camping life.  In fact, the other night I was so frustrated I told Dick, “I’m ready to return home.”

That was a few nights ago, and as you continue to read my blog, you’ll learn I’m still in it for the long run.  September is just around the corner.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nina
    Aug 20, 2012 @ 11:42:40

    I continue to enjoy your blogs, and at this stage and all you have been thru, staying to the end is admirable, etc. I was sorry to hear of Richard’s brother’s death. I will keep him in my thoughts. And yes the birthday month has come and gone! I was in Memphis for mine, but to envolved with issues there to do much celebrating. Happy Birthday to Richard, Hutch and all our family and friends having a Birthday this month. Even including me celebrating the 74th which I can hardly beleive. I continue to look forward to your note, Joyce. I did not realize I was sending you E-Mail responses instead of using the Blog site until the last few notes. Continue to have a incredible trip. What troopers you are. Love, NINA

    Reply

  2. Dianne Elliott
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 21:16:36

    Home is where the heart is, and soon Alaska will be more wonderful memories than frustration. I’m ready to see you guys and hear more than the blog can tell. Sorry you missed the birthday month, but this year is Dick’s special year (to make up for the poor one last year). Love you guys, Dee

    Reply

Leave a Reply

