Anchorage Here We Come

August 1, 2012

I can’t believe we are entering yet another month!

It is 7:30 AM, and peeking out our window, there is Ed (the fellow we met last night) out on the dock fishing for breakfast?

Before we set off for Anchorage, Dick and Ed talk business and travel tips.  Ed (68) was born in Oregon, lived in California during his teen years and then moved back to Oregon.  He has 2 sons, both in their thirties, never married.

Debbie, his wife has blond hair, blue eyes and a warm smile.  We have a lot in common as she is also accommodating her husband on his “bucket trip list.”  She complains of a sore back from snoozing in a sleeping bag during their camping time.  In fact, both of us take turns grumbling of problems we’ve experienced along the way.  I realize, after conversing with her, how much I miss my lady friends.

Dick wants to stay at this campground and just hang out and read, but I am antsy and want to move on.

The diner where we stop for lunch along the Alaska Highway has a trail behind it that leads to the Matanuska Glacier and River.  It takes us 10 minutes to reach the top and the panorama view is dramatic.  It brings back memories when John, (junior) Greg Hugunin, Dick & I rode the rapids on this same river when we were here in 1991.

Once again, we are treated to exquisite scenery which include glaciers, rivers, mountains and lakes.  It’s times like these that I am so thankful for the gift of sight.

There is a musk ox farm off the highway, but when I arrive to see those ice age wooly beasts, I’m told the tour does not begin for another half hour, so I decide not to wait.

At last we arrive in the big city of Anchorage and spend the next hour looking for a campground.  Remember, we still have no reverse so it is mandatory that we secure a spot that offers a pull-through.

The golden Nugget suits us and it is within walking distance of restaurants and a Costco.

Coming up I am going to explain my personal thoughts on this whole camping adventure, so stay tuned.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Alex Pujo
    Aug 03, 2012 @ 01:30:05

    Joyce,
    Did you bring along a Spanish dictionary? Your musings about the blessing of sight read like an early XX Century Spanish poet (Unamuno, I think):
    “Dale moneda, mujer
    que no hay en la vida nada,
    como la pena de ser
    ciego en Granada.”
    Please translate it to Dick.

    Reply

    • joyceax
      Aug 03, 2012 @ 02:27:15

      I know nada about the Spanish poet. The words just came to me as I was typing. I hope I’m not charged with plagiarism. I’ll translate your Spanish as best I can.

      Sent from my iPhone

      Reply

Leave a Reply

