Day 6 in Whitehorse

July 25, 2012

My mood today is like the weather, cool and overcast.  I’m trying to be as positive and upbeat as possible, but my patience is wearing thin.

This morning when Dick called the auto shop we were told that the part never arrived from Vancouver last night and it is now due from Ottawa/Vancouver/Whitehouse tonight!  If I had my way, we would take off today and continue driving and avoid any situation where we had to reverse the RV.  I bought insurance before we left which allows us road and towing service.

If anyone is coming to Whitehorse, see me.  I know every inch of the city after being here a week.  Population; 26,000 and all is conveniently located.  Yesterday we took a great hike around the Yukon River.  From there, we drove downtown and visited art galleries and shopped for souvenirs.

The Red Door B & B that we stayed at for 2 nights was delightful, and our hosts, Rosemary & Jack were kind and helpful.  My only complaint; too much food!  Yogurt, sourdough/blueberry pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, coffee and juice.  Next morning; Eggs Benedict with tomatoes, cucumbers and the sweetest cantaloupe I’ve ever tasted!  Luckily I was able to give Dick my sausage and the ham from the egg dish without too much notice.

Over 2 hearty breakfasts, we met some other travelers and compared stories.  Colin, a young man from Edmonton, with hair as black as a raven, kayaked (across the Yukon River) with 15 other friends, from Whitehorse to Dawson City to catch the annual bluegrass music festival.

Maureen and her husband Sy (a retired lawyer) from Vancouver surprised us when they mentioned they had eaten at Jockos in Nipomo and played golf in Santa Maria!

Today’s Arts in the Park is for children.  There are 2 story tellers and a demonstration of some martial arts which includes dancing and playing some unusual instruments.

Where we parked our RV, we see a small taco stand named “La Padrona.”  Both of us are craving Mexican food, so we indulge ourselves with fish tacos and carne asada.

There is an airshow today at 5:30 at the airport and as far as I know we are spending the night in the Walmart parking lot.

I will continue tomorrow with photos  as I am now at the library with limited Wi-Fi usage.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Elaine
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 22:53:21

    Not surprised about not getting parts for RV. Are you in Canada? Hope the part arrives tonite.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

