Winding Down

We have been in Bend for 5 weeks and Dick is ready to “hit the road.”  Our last day at our rental home is June 30.

Sunday morning Dick & I hike alongside the river.  Dick wants me to see an aerie nest he discovered the other day with Michael.  So after 2 miles, we finally spot the nest in one of the tallest trees I’ve seen, and lo and behold, with our binoculars, I am able to spot the head of an osprey peeking over the top!  On our way back, Dick convinces me to climb up the steep hill to our home, and as difficult as it is for me (loose gravel and narrow trails) I make it to the top without a scratch!

We are now on our way to Corvalis to watch ceremonies at Oregon State University.  My ex brother-in-law’s daughter is graduating.  The 2 1/2 hour ride is incredibly beautiful and my eyes are dizzy with all the sights along the way.  Rivers, lakes, meadows, snow capped mountains and so many lush green trees surrounding us on either side of the pass.

The graduation is at 3:30 and Jim meets us at the entrance of Reser Stadium with our tickets.  As we follow him to our seats, I notice special uniformed agents high above the bleachers.  The First Lady is the keynote speaker and security is high.  Michelle Obama is introduced and given an honorable degree from the president of the university.  Mrs. Obama’s younger brother is the basketball coach and so she could not refuse his invitation.  For me, her speech is so inspiring that I want to return to college and work towards my degree!

Here in Oregon daylight arrives at 5:30 A.M. and it remains light until 9 P.M. so there is still plenty of daylight on our drive home, which is a bonus for us, as we can once again view nature in all its splendor.

Monday morning we arrive at our walking class at the senior center at 10 A.M.  I mentioned on my past blog that our instructor Laura, walked 14 miles to Sisters when it is actually 26 miles!  Even so, my 3.5 walk this morning is an accomplishment for me. (Enclosing a photo of our class.)

The rest of this week we plan to spend our days with Olivia & Rafael, whether it be movies, swimming, shopping, lunches, etc.

As always I wish happy and healthy days to all my friends and family and a special wish for a speedy recovery to my very good friend, John.

Love, Joyce

ImageImage

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 11:22:41

    Joyce how wonderful your adventure sounds, I can imagine the visual buffet. Will have to put Oregon on list if places to visit! Regards to all, Happy to hear of the blissful lifestyle they enjoy. Gordon & I are excited for Renee’s visit here in Tampa, St. Petersburg, Sarasota arenas. Happy Trails!

    Reply

  2. Dianne Elliott
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:21:49

    I love reading your daily adventures, but please caption the photos with the names of those with you or where the photo was taken. Happy trails to you both.

    Reply

  3. Susan Mastman
    Jun 20, 2012 @ 16:53:11

    I love the photo of you with Dick and the class. You are glowing with health. You are becoming a true Oregonian. I look forward to hearing more about your next adventure.

    Reply

  4. J
    Jun 26, 2012 @ 15:41:31

    Looks like fun! Keep the “travels w/Joyce” coming.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

